The “SHOwRT” biz.

When I made my first short film 5 years ago, [because my friends and I were super bored due to the innumerable holidays gifted by the telangana bandhs] I had no idea that the telugu short film industry would grow so much; so much, that directors would be scouting for actors/actresses in short films; that there would be production houses to produce and promote short films; that there would be auditions to cast actors; that there would be websites solely promoting short film content; that they would pave a way to grab a chance to make a feature film; that my team and I grow, think, and make short films professionally. I had no idea. But, that is how it is; you never know where you’d find your golden ticket to passion and success.

You know how there are bad movies, and good movies; the same way; there are good short films and bad short films too. The thing about short films is, they can be made on zero budget, with a handy cam, or with DSLRs; I saw some movies being shot iPhones too. As a result, there are many wannabes who want their 30 seconds of fame, and this is the platform they have chosen. 

To me, filmmaking is a passion, and I respect it. And it hurts to see these kind of short films cropping up, especially these so called ‘love stories’ where either the guy keeps taunting about a girl breaking up with him or vice-versa. But what they don’t get is that they themselves area damaging the image of the youth, and what it has to offer. 

I am no Steven Spielberg or Martin Scorsese, but yes I don’t do them to just get fame; I do it because I am passionate about it. 

P.S. Those who will be offended by this post, means you aren’t passionate film makers 😛

Leave a comment